Tips and Tricks To Becoming Organized: Daily Routine

get organized

Scenario: You forget to set your alarm, causing you to wake up late for work. You have to take a shower and fix your hair before you leave the house, except, that pretty new blazer you just bought is missing! It should have been in the hallway closet but it’s not. You spend more time than you should have looking for it, and now you have to throw on the first cardigan in reach. You wish you could have fixed your hair, but since you couldn’t find your blazer, all you had time to do was put it in a bun.

You don’t enjoy being in a rush but you don’t know any other way to make life simpler. Here’s the trick: get organized!

First step is to put everything from the same category in the same place. WARNING: This might get messy before you start to see results. Don’t give up! Observe your routine and start with the first on your list. For example, if the first thing you do in the morning is shower, then begin with rearranging your clothes. Make sure all shirts, pants, shorts, leggings, socks, sweaters and undergarments are all in their proper places. For me, this usually means I have to put away a few loads of clean clothes from laundry day.

Once you have all your clothes neatly put away, the next step is to work on hair and makeup accessories. I’m a big fan of using old shoe boxes and storing them underneath my bed. This is where I put my appliances, such as blow dryer, flat iron, curling iron and rollers. Another big fan of mine is baskets; they come in handy for your bathroom or bedroom while taking up minimal space.

The next step to assuring you have everything in place for the next day is putting things in the same spot every single time. Keys are the most commonly misplaced item in many peoples homes. An easy way of remembering where your keys are is to ALWAYS put them in the same place. After a while, this becomes a habit and then you’ll never have a problem with losing your keys!

I personally have an obsession with Chapstick and I used to lose my sticks all the time! One day, I was cleaning and found FOUR sticks of Chapsticks, so I decided to be proactive. First, I put all my sticks in one spot until I was done cleaning and intentionally left out a few of my favorite items. I put a stick in the pocket of my favorite sweater, two purses, and the fourth stick in my car; This way, anytime I leave the house, I have Chapstick with me!

It’s best to work on one task one day at a time. Remember: Things did not become cluttered overnight, therefore they won’t be organized overnight.

Leave a Reply

