How to Stay Organized: De-cluttering

Scenario: It’s midday and you’re hanging out on the couch when a commercial comes on to sponsor gorgeous pairs of heels. You think twice before hopping online to purchase them because you remember buying a pair very similar to them a few months ago. So, you head to your closet and browse around clothes and shoes you haven’t seen or worn in years. By now, you cant seem to figure out where was the last time you even saw those heels. It’s frustrating when you cant find something you’re looking for, especially right away.

The key to staying organizing is to beat procrastination. A lot of times we put things away with the idea that we will go back to it someday, and a lot of times we don’t. You will have to de-clutter your home every few months to get rid of unnecessary items in order to avoid keeping things you never use.

Usually I go through my belongings every season. This is helpful to me because I can take out the shoes I plan to wear that season that I wasn’t able to wear the season before. For example, we are going into winter now, so a couple of weeks ago I went through my room and gathered up all the shoes I can’t wear when it’s snowing (flip flops, flats, thin-fabric shoes). Then I take out my suitcase, which I put all my off-season shoes in, and take out my boots and thick-fabric gym shoes.

This is helpful to do with clothes too, especially since we usually don’t stay the same size year round. I like to go through my drawers and take out tank tops, short sleeves, shorts and leggings that don’t fit or aren’t my still anymore. Most of the clothes I have, have little wear and tear, if any; normally I put all my old clothes in a bag and donate it to the Salvation Army. You can find these in big metal boxes, usually at schools, doctors offices and malls. Once you have some space in your closet and drawers, you can go SHOPPING for new items!

De-cluttering doesn’t have to be a headache. Start with one room and don’t stop until that room is done. Try not to overwhelm yourself by doing more than you can handle. Sometimes I find myself getting carried away and after working on a room for hours, I become exhausted. A good thing to do is step away for a little while – get something to drink, take a shower, make something to eat, etc.

 

Remember, it didn’t take one day to make that mess, so it won’t take one day to clean it all up!

 

Leave a Reply

