Sticking to the Plan

Hey everyone! It has been a really long time since I’ve posted anything! In March of 2015, I was proposed to get married and needless to say, that had consumed a lot of my time. Now that my dream wedding has come and gone, I am back because I have missed sharing my thoughts with you all!

Also, as I am sure you have noticed my posting are quite long, so in effort to keep your attention, I will aim to make these shorter. Now let’s get to it!

Sticking to the plan!

Scenario: How many times have you come home from work and plopped yourself on the couch until it was time for bed? You feel relaxed and distressed, but what have you truly accomplished? Dinner still needs to be cooked, laundry needs to be washed, dried and put away (the horror!) and continuously putting those things off only makes it more dreadful to do when you finally decide you aren’t going to procrastinate anymore. I’m going to help you find ways to get things done even when you feel overwhelmed.

Before my husband and I left for our honeymoon, we had moved twice. Our things were everywhere; in boxes, bags, storage unit – it was a disaster. We hadn’t even opened our mail! Everything was just so hectic because we not only were confused about where our things were, but we were planning for a wedding and had trouble finding time for the little things. A weekend to relax was always a weekend spent meeting with family to prepare for the Big Day, getting together with DJ’s, photographers and wedding coordinators. Something I have learned along the way is to get done with the little things while they are still little.

pile_of_mail

Mail: DO NOT just pile mail in a shoebox and get to it when the box is overflowing! I have learned the hard way. If you are like me, you know what day your bills are due and how much you need to pay off the top of your head by now, but sometimes there are changes to your bills that you are only going to know of if you open your mail (or check the portal, for those of you who like to save paper).

pile of laundry

Laundry: Now, I find this more difficult to get done in a day, but I feel a whole lot happier when I’m not sleeping on a pile of clothes or kicking them from the end of the bed to the floor. So, I aim to do laundry once a week. I’ve noticed if I don’t get to folding it and putting it away the day I do the laundry, it usually hangs around until the next week when I do laundry again. So, as much as it’s stressful to dedicate hours to this, just get it over with. You will be thankful later.

I’m always coming up with ideas on how to share my organization skills (and yes, I’m still teaching myself daily). The best way to get things done is to give yourself a little list to do when you get home. I’ve noticed that if I get to things right when I get home instead of going to the couch, I’m more likely to feel more optimistic about chores. Remember – LITTLE TASKS! The mess you have did not happen in one day so it will not be cleaned or organized in one either. Pace yourself, you’re only one person. It’s okay to get started on something and leave it unfinished until the next day (just don’t procrastinate on doing it the next day). Create a plan and stick to it! It’s the only way things are going to get done.

Leave a Reply

