Getting organized: working with what you have

Hey everybody! Last time I blogged I told you all about our efforts to move out. Since that has been postponed, my husband and I (basically my idea) have decide to work within the means we have been dealt. Therefore, we have been working on organizing the space we have to better suit our needs. Last week I did a bit of online shopping. When we got married, we received a bunch of gift cards that we have yet to put to use because we’ve been waiting for the big move. Because we didn’t want to take the chance of the gift cards expiring or losing them due to holding on to them for so long, we decided to put them to good use.

Long story short, here was my shopping list:

3 bin laundry basket – Bed, Bath and Beyond
Under the bed shoe storage – Target
Under the bed storage tote – Target

If you haven’t noticed by now, I am a HUGE fan of under the bed storage. Before now, I’ve been keen on using shoe boxes. Recently I’ve retired my shoe boxes by putting things into storage little by little. This weekend I’ve revamped my entire room. Closets cleaned and under the bed cleaned out to make room for the delivery of my new items.

I bought the clear tote to have a nice place out of the way for blankets pillows and stuffed animals. Believe it or not, I have a few stuffed animals and A LOT of fleece blankets. Let’s just say my husband knows what to get to make me comfortable. But I feel like every time we’re off to bed I’m pushing things to the end of the bed and in the morning picking everything back up. This is what the clear tote is for.

capture-_2017-02-26-12-38-52_resized

The laundry basket was purchased because we had a round large bin that wasn’t cutting it anymore. I got tired of waking up to laundry on the floor spilling out of the basket and tired of sorting out clothes when it came time to do laundry.

capture-_2017-02-26-12-39-39_resized
What I like about this so far is it has 3 compartments so I can sort immediately with colors, heavy articles of clothing and whites. We’re off to a good start.

We have been using a shoe organizer that hangs in our closet because it made sense at the time of purchase. But over time its mostly been an annoyance. I always feel like we don’t have enough space, which is why we bought the under the bed shoe organizer.

capture-_2017-02-26-12-38-22_resized

I feel a lot better using this because it’s out of sight and out of mind. And when we need a pair we can always switch it out with a pair that we don’t use as often.

I really didn’t pay much for these items so I was extremely excited to revamp my room by minimizing the amount of clutter that is seen when I walk in. So far, everything is working out well!
Alright guys, let me know what you think, comments are always welcomed. Thanks for reading!

Leave a Reply

