Getting Your Groove Back

Hey everyone! I often find myself flustered trying to squeeze all these tasks and chores into just a couple days, such as the fabulous weekend. Weekends are so precious and fly by faster than we’d like them to, so doesn’t it make sense to leave the mandatory tasks for during the week? It’s always such a bummer when I just want to relax on Saturday or Sunday but I promised myself I would do a 3-5 hour project which is not enjoyable at all; not everyone has a cleaning lady, but if you do, good for you!! Anyways, lately I have been trying to get as much as I can done during the week so the weekend is mine to do as I please.

Simple trick – set aside 30 minutes a day.

gear-clock-antique-gold

Everyday when I get home from work, I think of one or two things I can do around my house that won’t take long such as putting away the laundry, or even putting a load or two in to wash/dry. Tuesdays, for example are the fun days, I feel like: I only have one 1-hour show, so I’ll put in a couple loads, or de-clutter my room a bit, then lie down with a candle burning and read a Harry Potter book on my Kindle. I basically get off on having a clean house, especially my room. I don’t spend a lot of time in my room, so I feel like that’s the place that gets easily forgotten.

This is why the 30 minute challenge works well for me because I can de-clutter enough to get my rocks off (not literally, but I sure am an organization freak). Nothing makes me happier than being able to walk through my room without tripping over cords or bumping into stuff. Try it, and thank me later! Remember, even if your house looks like it belongs on Hoarders, pushing yourself to get everything clean in one day is unrealistic! It didn’t take a day to make the mess, so it’s going to take some time to organize it. Be patient with yourself and tackle one thing at a time.

Leave a Reply

